AMS Overview

Acoustic Music Seminar

April 4 – April 11, 2020 | Mike Marshall, Director

AMS is a week of creativity and learning that inspires years of musical growth. Become part of a network of musicians who are creating the best music of their lives, and whose careers are only just beginning. The deadline to apply for AMS 2020 was November 10, 2019.


Notable AMS Alumni Include:

Paul Kowert, AMS ’12 (Punch Brothers; Dave Rawlings MachineHaas Kowert Tice, Hawktail; 2015 IBMA Momentum Award Nominee)
Brittany Haas, AMS ’12 (Dave Rawlings MachineHaas Kowert Tice, Hawktail)
Alex Hargreaves, AMS ’12 (Turtle Island Quartet, Live From Here)
Courtney Hartman, AMS ’12 (Della Mae)
Jordan Tice, AMS ’12 (Haas Kowert Tice, Hawktail)
Molly Tuttle, AMS ’12 and ’13 (2015 and 2016 IBMA Momentum Award Nominee)
John Mailander, AMS ’12 and ’13 (Bruce Hornsby and the Noisemakers, 2015 and 2016 IBMA Momentum Award Nominee) 
Gary Hultman, AMS ’13  (Blue HighwayThe Boxcars)
Kyle Tuttle, AMS ’12 (Kyle Tuttle Band, The Jeff Austin Band, 2017 Walnut Valley National Bluegrass Banjo Champion) 
Ethan Jodziewicz, AMS ’13 (Mr. Sun; Sierra Hull)
Erik Alvar, AMS ’13 (2016 IBMA Momentum Award Nominee)
Xavier Foley, AMS ’13 (First Prize Winner, 2014 Sphinx Competition)
Catherine Bowness, AMS ’13 (Mile Twelve; 2015 FreshGrass Best Banjo Winner)
David Benedict, AMS ’13 and ’14 (Missy Raines and the New Hip)
Bronwyn Keith-Hynes, AMS ’14 (Mile Twelve; 2015 FreshGrass Best Fiddler Winner)
Mike Robinson, AMS ’14 and ’15 (Railroad Earth, The Freewheel Trio, The Jeff Austin Band)
Carolyn Kendrick and Jake Howard
, AMS ’16-17 and ’14-15 (2016 FreshGrass Best Duo Winner)
Ethan Setiawan, AMS ’15 and ’16 (2014 National Mandolin Champion, 2017 RockyGrass Best Mandolin Winner)
Zosha Warpeha, AMS ’16 (2019 Fulbright Award Recipient)
Thomas Cassell, AMS ’16 and ’17 (Circus No. 9, 2016 RockyGrass Best Mandolin Winner)
Kaia Kater, AMS ’16 (One of Rolling Stone’s “10 Country Artists You Need to Know”)
Tristan Scroggins, AMS ’17 (Scroggins and Rose, Jeff Scroggins and Colorado; 2019 FreshGrass Best Mandolin Winner)
Mali Obomsawin, AMS ’17 and ’18 (Lula Wiles)
Sam Leslie, AMS ’17 and ’19 (2017 RockyGrass Best Guitar Winner, 2018 RockyGrass Best Mandolin Winner)

Sponsored by David and Linda Bush, Anne P. West, Publix Super Markets Charities and Adventure Music.